ARLINGTON, Texas – Ruth Heath-Trott of Montpelier, Ohio, and Mike Nelson of Houston have been selected by the United States Bowling Congress Board of Directors to receive National Recognition Awards.

Heath-Trott will receive the Helen Baker Award for Outstanding Association Service, and Nelson has been named USBC Proprietor of the Year. Both awards will be presented at the USBC Convention and Annual Meeting, set for April 24-27 in Las Vegas.



Heath-Trott has served the sport of bowling on the local, state and national level for more than 50 years. She currently is president of Greater Toledo USBC, a position she has held for the last six years, and is a director on the Ohio State USBC Youth Association. She served as the Ohio Women's Bowling Association president for 12 years.

"It is a tremendous honor to be recognized for doing something that I truly love," Heath-Trott said. "It is a very special award to me because I knew and worked with Helen Baker and she was someone I hold with great respect. We do not spend the hours working for our chosen sport with the idea that we are

working toward any honors, but because we firmly believe in what we are doing. Bowling has been a very important part of my life and I place a very high value on the people I have met and the friends I have made along the way."

During 25 years with the Ohio WBA, she served on the first Women's International Bowling Congress Area Recruitment panel, was the WIBC-Ohio State Coordinator for Membership Development and chaired the first Membership Development Workshop in Toledo in 1994.

After retiring from the Ohio USBC WBA, she focused on the local level, helping Greater Toledo USBC complete its Procedure and Policy Manual, and helped increase the board's involvement. She also brought back the hall of fame, shelved because of a lack of funds, and was instrumental in putting together the winning bids for the 2012 and 2016 Ohio State USBC BA Championships and the 2013 Ohio USBC Women's Bowling Championships.

She has received numerous honors, including election to the Ohio Bowling Hall of Fame in 1994 and Ohio USBC WBA Hall of Fame in 2004, both for meritorious service. She has participated in 46 USBC Women's Championships and is a charter member of the Montpelier WBA Hall of Fame, elected for Superior Performance in 1988.